Finally, nearly FOs

Yes, yes, some actual knitting to show today.

First, the Katie Bell Baby Cardi, a freebie pattern from Classic Elite’s newsletter.  Almost finished, save for buttonholes and some duplicate stitching to jazz it up. I shall not be embroidering Peeps on this.

Katie Bell Baby Cardi by Classic Elite

Katie Bell Baby Cardi by Classic Elite

Details on my ravelry page.  A couple of caveats with this pattern:  1)  Once the bodice is knitted sideways, you pick up stitches and knit down to the hem.  However, the designer does not give you any sort of ratio for this pick-up.  I found her number of stitches (130 for 18 mo. size) to be too many – it was looking bunchy since you use a larger needle for the body than the bodice.  After (too) much fiddling, I settled on picking up one st for each 2 going around the garment.  This seems to have worked out fine.  It’s kind of hard to see as photographed, owing to circ still in the work.   2)  It called for 4 sk of Classic Silk, but I will easily finish using just 3.   Perhaps owing to using fewer st as noted above in 1).

Soon as it’s finished, I promise modeled shots with Darling Bebe.

Next, the Ring of Lace wrap. All done, but for a serious bath and blocking.  I enjoyed this as some thoroughly mindless lace knitting I could pick up and put down easily.  Hence, it’s taken almost a year to knit.  No rush.

Ring of Lace wrap (tight)

Ring of Lace wrap (tight)

I used a “cinque skein” of Morehouse Merino Laceweight purchased at Rhinebeck a few years ago.  There’s a LOT of it left, plenty for another project.  Will have to drag out the kitchen scale to get a sense of how much.  I did try to use the math in the pattern to calculate the “planned pooling” that was described using Schaeffer Andrea.  No matter how I swatched it, it didn’t quite work, perhaps because of the dye intervals Morehouse uses.  Ring of Lace unblocked

This will be a perfect chill-chaser for the office come cooler temps in the fall.  Love it.  Can’t wait to see how it opens up when blocked.  I’ll be going for width rather than height to get a comfortable double or triple wrap around the neck.

Finally today: some stash enhancement.  An unexpected fire sale (in the figurative sense) at my LYS landed three lots of Artyarns Ultramerino 8 in my stash for less than my weekly coffee budget.  I’m thinking a vest of some kind with the blue/camo colorway.  The rest will do something fun for Darling Bebe.

artyarns orange variegated artyarns tangerine artyarns bluemix

Happy Knitting!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Finally, nearly FOs”

  1. Luann Says:

    Congrats on the new blog! Beautiful baby, beautiful lilacs, and beautiful knitting! I am right there with you in the no-time-lots-of-ideas trudge of motherhood. Now that Baby Luann is big enough to run around the yard I at least get a few minutes to play in the garden here and there. Keep the beautiful posts coming, please…

    • nutmegowl Says:

      It’s so nice to hear from you! You’re one of my role models, so stay close. I’m glad to hear there’s hope when it comes to getting back into the garden.

Leave a Reply

