Maa-aa-aa-aass

Good morning!

Good morning!

What a perfect day to escape from captivity: four GalPals, two darling bebes (not mine), a nice drive, a cool morning and lots to see at the Massachusetts Sheep and Woolcraft Fair.

Shiverin' sheep

Shiverin' sheep

We arrived about 45 minutes after the gates opened and in spite of many cars, the event seemed empty.  There were no lines, no bumping elbows and a definite, “Where is everybody?” feeling about the place.  Some vendors think it’s the recession.  I don’t know what to think, but it’s a great event and I hope it continues.  A good day for strollers, that’s for sure.

Sheeted sheep

Sheeted sheep

I have to confess that every time I see a shorn sheep in his shearing suit, all I can think of is Klan.  Why don’t they make these in other colors, so it looks less like a parody of Klansmen in bedsheets?

Can’t say why, but I could not resist this sportweight alpaca

Alpaca by Millafrom an animal named Milla at a farm with “Rock’n” in its name that I cannot pull out of my memory bank.  It will make some nice little 1 sk project.

Bonus points if you would ever think I’d be buying a  colorway called, “Blue Moon.”  On the left is Spunky Eclectic Alpaca Lace.  I was simply drawn to the color.  Sometimes we surprise ourselves.

Blue Moon

Blue Moon

softseawool teal

Soft Sea Wool - Teal

Soft Sea Wool - Green

Soft Sea Wool - Green

Later, I picked up just a few things at Webs.  Some Reynolds Soft Sea Wool for sweaters for Darling Bebe, and some Misti Alpaca Chunky to make a couple of Christmas cowls.  The prices were terrific – out the door for under $50.

I do enjoy the freedom I have to spend what I want on yarn from my teaching $$.  I work hard to be a good instructor, so it’s nice that yarn begets yarn, if you will.  Actually, I save more than I spend, which is even better.  In spite of the yarn talk, Saturday was all about the fresh air and good company which I’ve sorely missed.  Balm for the soul.  And then back to reality.

I hope your dose of it doesn’t come too soon …

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Maa-aa-aa-aass”

  1. Luann Says:

    Oh, how I wish I could have joined you! Maybe next year. Thanks for the pix, I got a vicarious fiber rush just reading about your trip. (I can’t pout too much – what I did instead was go on a date with my husband – lunch, shopping, and a movie – for the first time in ages.)

    Any pix of the blocked shawl?

    • nutmegowl Says:

      A date with your husband – that’s very special! Glad to hear it. But we wish you’d have come and met up with us!

  2. Lou (happystasher on Ravelry) Says:

    Oooooo! Pretty yarn!! SOunds like a nice day to me.

Leave a Reply

