O Happy Day!

Reinforcements have arrived — in the form of Mom and Dad.  Hurray!  Mom will stay for a week of “respite care” for me and Darling Bebe, who I fear is growing bored with her mama.  I could not be more delighted.

The weekend promises lots of outside time, mulching, pruning and weeding – things I can’t do with the sole care of the Darling Girl.  And I have the best grounds crew in the world to help.

Oh, and about that red shawl (Kousa Dogwood Shawl) … I have a time/space continuum problem.  As in: I hadn’t the time to block it before my parents arrived, and now I haven’t the space to block it with them in the guest room.  It’s a conundrum.  Not sure if I’ll have Mom leave it here to finish it properly or just let it go as is.  She loved the color, which is the same color she wore to my wedding.  Satisfying to see her appreciate it as I knew she would.

Peony

Peony

With June just a few days away, here’s the eye candy that says June here:  peonies.  Loving them is something I share with my friend, Clara Parkes, who used them as her inspiration for the Clara’s Garden colorway for Lorna’s Laces.  I marvel that the “jawbreakers” at the top of the stem produce blooms like these, with their hundreds of petals.  It’s a simple miracle.  And I am a raving lunatic for their light cold-cream smell.  (I suppose I’m dating myself to even know what cold cream IS.  Oh well.) If only they had perfected smell-a-vision so I could share it with you.

Happy weekend!

Tags:

5 Responses to “O Happy Day!”

  1. Debbie Says:

    Your so funny! Enjoy your parents visit. Such a beautiful flower too.

  2. kim Says:

    Enjoy your time with your parents. I hope that your weekend is everything you’ve dreamed of and more!

    • nutmegowl Says:

      I dreamed of weeded, mulched flower beds and a garage-door opener that actually opened the garage door. Mission(s) accomplished!

  3. Clara Says:

    What a beautiful peony!! As for the time-space conundrum, would your parents REALLY notice a shawl blocking on their bed if, say, you sent them off on a “mystery scavenger hunt” that required driving to three states in a 24-hour period? Just trying to think outside the box here…

    • nutmegowl Says:

      Hmmm. I hadn’t thought that far out of the box! That’s why I have such good friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

