WIP Wednesday

Sorry, I’m pic-less on this WIP Wednesday.  Instead, a word about finishing.  More accurately, a word about buttons.

Buttons, buttons – what they add or do not to a piece.  They are make-it-or-break-it.  I know there are scads of collectors out there who buy buttons the way I buy yarn.  I just have a very hard time doing it until I can see them on a finished piece.

It took trips to three places to find the right buttons for the Katie Bell Baby Cardi.  Last night, I spent a precious hour sewing all 7 onto the sweater.  An HOUR, I tell you.  I had a devil of a time getting the buttons to seat themselves as I wanted, because they had unusual construction and shanks.  Finally – FINALLY – after snipping them off and starting over more times than I can tell you, I got them Betsy Ross’d on sufficiently to prevent toddler choking and to sit properly on the knitting.  And that, as they say, is an hour of my life I will never get back.

You’ll see as soon as the sweater is blocked.  Pics already taken, but I’m waiting until there is Darling Bebe eye candy to show it off properly.

Oh, and yesterday, there was a little LYS stop in the middle of the day.  I’ll show you the results after Mom leaves.  For now, I am hiding the bag.  No sense opening myself up to another cocked eyebrow involving yarn.  (Funny, but spouse thinks nothing of it, it’s my mother who would have a coronary if she knew anything about the real stash.)

Happy Wednesday!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “WIP Wednesday”

  1. kim Says:

    You’re just teasing me with this cardi. I want to see!!!! My mom would never understand my stash either. I was never this bad when I lived at home. Oh, and the buttons, well, you know I’m a collector.

  2. Debbie Says:

    I can’t wait to see the goodies.

Leave a Reply

