Pride goeth …

… and one does fall hard sometimes.

So I heard from many pals that seaming the lap shoulders on Get Ziggy was a colossal bear.  With nephew’s arrival anytime in the next few weeks, I needed to get that done.  Brought in the MIL to babysit, and headed for my local B&N.

I opted for my usual preferred method of easing sleeves: crocheting them in.  There was definitely a lot of easing going on, as the sleeves seemed much too small for the hole.  Otherwise, however, the lap shoulders were not a big deal.  Managed to get both sleeves done in 2 hours, which wasn’t inordinately long for me.  I was in the mood to finish – and finishing takes time and focus.

Smooth seaming

Smooth seaming

Focus.  Yeah, that’s the word.  How about “macro focus” in this case?  I looked at those seams, and looked at them and was rather pleased with myself for nice smooth joins without seams that were too bulky.  An awful lot of ends to tie in, but I sacrificed precious knitting time had to get them done so I could block it. … One more inspection.  Showed it off to DH … and Laughed.  Out.  Loud.

With every end woven in … I noticed what I overlooked while studying those sleeve seams:  I lapped the shoulders backwards.  The back shoulder is supposed to be on top of the front, so that it crosses to the front and creates the crew neckline.

What's wrong with this picture?

What's wrong with this picture?

Oops.

Unfixable.  Even if I wanted to, I couldn’t find all the ends to pull it out.

Thus, it shall stay.  My major design feature.

And I thought I was so clever.  I’m still laughing.  Beats crying and this project isn’t worth that.  Obligation Knitting completed.  Next!

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Pride goeth …”

  1. kim Says:

    Oh, that is so sad! I swore I’d never make that sweater again – only the hat. The hat is fabulous! It looks beautiful though.

  2. Peggy from SnB Says:

    Oh no! I know how hard you worked to get that finished in time! I often use the expression “ass backward” but now I will use “lap backward”!
    Thanks for the chuckle my friend!

  3. Luann Says:

    Design feature? I’ll say! Call it “dressmaker detail” please. Think of all those “deconstructed” outre fashion designers, putting seams on the outside etc. C’est tres, tres chic!

    • nutmegowl Says:

      Yah (cough) a dressmaker detail! Sorry, I’m still laughing at myself. Will be so glad to hand this off and walk away.

Leave a Reply

