Lilywatch

I don’t need a calendar to know when July is coming to a close.  The crown jewels of my garden tell me in bold exclamation.

They are Lilium Casa Blanca, yet another contribution to my garden from our dear CleoLion’s moon garden.  Every year, new baby stalks emerge and every single one manages to carry at least one bloom.  I’ve always talked about their bloom as something that belongs to the world of time-lapse photography.  So I did a little timeline of my own this year to show you what I mean.

1 pm Sunday

1 pm Sunday

Bloom begins 1 pm Sunday

Bloom begins 1 pm Sunday

One thunderstorm later, and there’s progress.

5 pm

5 pm

As daylight fades, it continues, in spite of a second thunderstorm.  (Note:  shot in the dark, so I was having trouble keeping it in the viewfinder, let alone in focus!)

11 p.m.

11 p.m.

With morning, more to see.

7 a.m. Monday

7 a.m. Monday

Monday’s progress was limited by popcorn thunderstorms all afternoon and evening.  By now, you get the picture.  As delicate as the petals look, they almost feel like rubber or silicone.  They’re incredibly strong.

You cannot imagine the fragrance.  Neighbors several houses down can smell them.  I count more than 50 blooms coming over the next couple of weeks from what started as a mere 3 stalks transplanted.

7 p.m. Monday

7 p.m. Monday

I lay no claim to being any kind of nature photographer. Just an amateur in the garden who loves what she does there.

I’ll be offline for awhile, so enjoy.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

