Resolved

Be it resolved that in 2010, I shall make progress on the following:

Tackle some of the baker’s dozen of unfinished objects waiting so patiently for attention, too many of which have been OTN for – ahem – some years.  In most cases, this involves time and attention to detail – two things absent in my 2009 New World Order.  I really do enjoy finishing, but have not had the mental capacity to execute it as it deserves.  As brain cells regenerate since the arrival of Darling Bebe, it’s time to move forward.  And reclaim an awful lot of needles.

Knit like crazy for the darlingest knitwear model. I should be positively embarrassed by the number of projects stashed for Darling Bebe in upcoming years/sizes.  They are all carefully packaged with appropriate project notes, ready for “shopping” in the stash at any hour of day or night.  No excuse to not get them OTN so I can make all of her online aunties happy with more pix.

Knit one sweater for myself. Doesn’t sound like much, but bear in mind that 2009 was my declared YotA (Year of the Accessory) for purely practical reasons.  I love knitting garments, but as noted above, just. could. not. do. them. justice.  I thoroughly enjoyed my foray into easily-completed and easily-finished projects, especially using fabulous fiber.  But by year’s end, there should be at least one new garment in my wardrobe, using the principles from Custom Knits to end up with something I’m proud to wear.  (Thanks to Hipparchia for the referral!  I wish all my garments fit like yours.)

Attend an extra day of the Knitter’s Review Retreat. (Provided, of course, I can actually get into the extension, that is.) I don’t care if the subject matter is spinning, or spit-splicing or steeking: I deserve to extend this one thing I do for myself an extra day.  Four days out of 365 is reasonable.  There is simply not enough time spent with all of you who keep me afloat from afar the rest of the year.

Ready my own design for publication. Yes, I have one.  It has been sitting waiting for its border to be applied, and then time for a severe tech edit.  And then distribution.  Maybe someone bites, maybe no one.  But it’s time I tried.  And I know enough smart people (who are reading this) to get super advice along the way.

That’s enough for one calendar year.  We’ll see how I do.

Happy New Year!

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Resolved”

  1. Debbie Says:

    Wow, great goals. I wish you the best. I know you’ve got what it takes to make them happen!! Happy New Year to you too. Oh and thanks for the gift of “The Kouza” in 2009!

  2. Mary Says:

    Wishing you a good 2010! My resolution is to make at least one goal for the year–so I’m very impressed with yours!

  3. A glance « Owlways Knitting Says:

    […] A year ago, I promised to “make progress on the following”: […]

Leave a Reply

