Enough

Thanks to novenas to the Yarn Goddess and candles to St. Jude, here is an enlarged and completed Citron – with about 5 yards of yarn to spare!

Unblocked Citron

That’s right, the generous yardage of Sundara Fingering Silky Merino – billed as 500 yards, but always more – allowed for completion of a 6th pattern repeat and a complete ending ruffle.

About the pattern:  Just what the doctor ordered.  An unfussy knit that required no concentration.  Another shout-out here to Lilia who unselfishly shared the math to preserve the remaining sanity of one overtaxed Owl.

About the yarn:  Yummmmm! It feels wonderful and it hasn’t yet had a bath!  I do love semi-solids, and in this case, I’m delighted with the marriage of yarn and pattern.  The tonal color changes add depth to the pattern’s simplicity.

About gauge: I went up one needle size from the suggested 6 st/in for laceweight to account for the slightly heavier yarn while maintaining desired drape.  Actual gauge (pre-blocking) of about 5.5st/in.  It will undoubtedly open up a little more with blocking.  I also used a needle 2 sizes larger for the bind-off to keep the ruffle from drawing in.

My only caution regarding FSM is that if you are using lifelines, be sure to use a blunt-tipped needle.  The FSM can catch a needle in weird parts of the loops if you’re not using a really a fat tip.

Yes, I used a couple of lifelines – because I could.  I believe in idiot-proofing wherever possible.  Had I run out of yarn, no big deal.  I mean, it wasn’t in any way a tricky knit.  Word has it that a number of knitters have felt the project to be a little small.  I will follow the advice of Sprocket and block it a little harder along the straight edge to get more length.  With the extra pattern repeat, it’s more than a half-circle anyway, and the extra repeat will help preserve the ruffle in so doing.

Another Citron angle

The tricky part as it were, involves the time/inclination to clear out the guest room from our vacation bags to have room to block this.  Yes, I know we went away a bit ago, but they’re all summer clothes that need to be put away somewhere.

Wouldn’t you rather knit instead?

I thought so.

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Enough”

  1. Margaret Kiprenko Says:

    Your Citron looks sooooooooooooo nice! Absolutely lovely!

  2. Sprocket Says:

    I LOVE it! The extra repeat will make it extra ruffly. Nicely done 🙂

  3. Debbie Says:

    I love it all! The color and the increased size. Lovely work!

  4. Mary Says:

    It looks fabulous!

  5. Kim Says:

    Totally envious. I wish I had had enough yarn for one more repeat. Ah well….

Leave a Reply

