Overcompensating

That pretty much describes everything in my life at the moment.  Certainly my knitting.

At what point does the perfect become the enemy of the good?

When you are actually considering re-knitting a project for a third time.

Wha’?

Yes, I lost my good sense.  And  brought it all on myself.

See, I know that my Briar Rose Glory Days BFL – the Skein That Will Not End – will bloom a little when it’s had a sudsy bath.  With an Ivy Vines cowl and Snapdragon Tam already completed, all that was missing was a set of mitts.  Nutmeg Owl LOVES mitts, which allow her to buckle car-seats and fill out daycare paperwork without taking off her handwear.  Conversely, I really hate mitts that don’t hug your hand.  My Hedgerow Mitts relaxed tremendously after their bath and I’ve regretted not knitting them on smaller needles.  So when I chose the very simple Ritzy pattern to show off the lovely semi-solid BFL, I decided to make extra-sure that they would not grow too much.

Suffice it to say that someone saw me working on them on US 3s and asked whether I was making them for Darling Bebe.  Ahem.  Uh, no.  And they were pretty tight (and nearly finished) when I tried them on (the only down-side of working 2-at-a-time).

Rip it, rip it, rip it.

Ritzy, take 2

Okay, I went up to US 5.  Much better.  And I should say that one of the things I liked about this pattern was knitting the mitts inside-out in reverse stockinette.  I really like the built-in long cuffs – for in wintertime, that “gap” at the wrists between coat and handwear is most uncomfortable.

When it was time to pick up the thumbs, I needed a sanity check on something my brain wasn’t processing in the pattern, so I asked a friend who already made them.

“What are you talking about?” she asked.  “Let me pull up my pattern.”

Ummm.  Turns out, the most recent iteration of this pattern is knitted right-side out, and includes a lovely little thumb gusset.  Oh.  Withdrawal from karma bank because someone gave me the paid-for pattern and I didn’t know there was an update.  The Yarn Goddess snarls, “Take that!”

I confess here that I put the mitts in time-out for several days.  To re-knit or not?

No. There is more knitting waiting for you.  These are done.  You are an absolute control-freak dork.  You are finished.  Stop trying to compensate for all the things you cannot control in your goofy little life and give those mitts a bath.

Funny, though – there’s still enough yarn left for another project.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Overcompensating”

  1. kim Says:

    Wow, what a loser that friend is for not giving you the update. LOL They are a great knit. Try again later when you feel up to it. I’ve had those knits that should be simple but just seem to be working against you. I am actually whipping up a sweater. Yes, accessory girl is making a sweater! Call Ripley’s.

  2. Nanci Says:

    Yes. You must re-knit. in order for you to enjoy the mitts, they must be right. They must be as you know they were meant to be. Control? No.Compensating? No. Standards? Yes. Pride? Yes. Re-Knit. You will LOVE them if you do. Hand Knitted objects you made and love? Priceless.

  3. Bath magic « Owlways Knitting Says:

    […] my Ritzy mitts, knitted in Briar Rose Fibers Glory Days ~ the-skein-that-would-not-end ~ have been sitting in time out.  BFL was the March wool-of-the-month.  These got thumbs months ago.  Four teensy little ends to […]

Leave a Reply

