We have winners!

In the brief moment before the alarm went off this morning, I was dreaming of yarn. That much I know.  Couldn’t tell you what yarn, but I was in a happy place.

I had this whole silly little construct in my brain.  After breakfast, Darling Bebe would draw out winners names and clever Owl would snap some shots and post them, thus satisfying those of you who would like to see more of her.

That was before, “Want Mommy to make me raisin bran!” somehow transformed into a bowl hurled across the room leaving dripping bran flakes in its wake.  Sigh.

Back to that happy place, if only in my head, please.

So, one work day later, having just had to change sheets because little Houdini decided to remove her sleepsack and pajamas and pee all over the bed, and now with the bedding in the washer:  I held a drawing with my low-tech little identical strips of paper.

I believe in buying local when I can, so both prizes come from one of my favorite local enterprises:  Still River Mill.  This mill processes micro-batches of wonderful fiber.  They do  but a few shows a year, because they feel that they would be “competing” against their customers if they did more. Look for them at Rhinebeck.  They are worth it.

Still River Mill Cashmere

For my former student Debbie, who turned into quite the lace maven, a skein of laceweight 2-ply 100% cashmere in a lovely shade of orchid (that sadly, was not captured well by the camera).  Not purple, not pink, perhaps kind of mauve.  You could make a Pretty Thing cowl or another one-skein project with your 200 yards.  I know you’re going to LOVE playing with this.

Still River Mill Yakaboo

My dear Nanci-with-an-i will be the recipient of this skein of Yakaboo: 40% yak, 40% merino and 20% bamboo.  200 yards of laceweight softness in its natural shade for some little mitts or a little cowl or whatever makes your needles sing.  Like so many of you who visit my owl box, Nanci has a way of owlways lifting me up or making me tear up.  She just knows stuff.

I truly appreciated all of your comments as I look forward.  They will help me to frame and shape what I write about.  More coming, including a book review, so stay tuned.

Wherever you are, I hope your happy place is more real than just inside your head.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “We have winners!”

  1. kim Says:

    Oh, things never go as planned with 2 year olds, do they?

    Such yummy goodies. Congrats to the winners. Have a great weekend!

  2. Luann Says:

    and where was I that morning? On hands and knees under the table wiping up raisin bran. Not flung, exactly – a spill as result of experimenting Toddler Luann who was trying to determine just how much of the bowl could be cantilevered off the edge of the table without catastrophe.

  3. Nanci Says:

    I’m a winner! Thanks, OwlwaysKnitting and the Enchanting Bebe for picking my name. I can’t wait to feel, sniff and knit up my winnings.
    …And please keep your blog entries coming. I need my OwlwaysKnitting fixes!

Leave a Reply

