Windfalls

As duly noted, I love starting new projects.  Hot on the heels of Ishbel, on Monday, I finished knitting my Prairie Rose Shawl from The Knitter’s Book of Wool.  (It is far too hot and humid to block yet.)  So on Tuesday, I conferred with pals and browsed patterns as part of this exciting and creative starting process.  Which shawl to start?  Which stash yarn to use?

Then, an unexpected email.  An author of an upcoming book had put out a query for local test-knitters many months ago.  They had a problem with a sample.  Could I be their “Fairy Godknitter” and make another on the fly?

What fun!  Test-knitting a piece for a book.  Neato.  And the project would be accompanied by some text from my own cult leader, Clara Parkes. Hoot, indeed!

Of course, the Yarn Goddess threw in a “catch.”

If asked to list my Top Ten Favorite Knitting Techniques, intarsia and colorwork would be #20 and #21.  So it follows that this project involves both. On size 3 needles.

Sigh.

Blasted cosmic sitcom writers.

The glass is well over half full, however.  Minh, who has a stash that must be separately insured, somehow picked me to win her blog contest.  Yarn from Minh?  Yippeeeeeeeee!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Windfalls”

  1. kim Says:

    Um, congratulations? Yeah, intarsia is like 30 on my list.

  2. Bullwinkle Says:

    /snicker (Minh’s stash … ) snicker

    Congratulations! (I actually just read that on Minh’s blog!)

    I’m with you on the intarsia part. Oh yay! size 3’s.

  3. Luann Says:

    I am just catching up on about a month of blogreads while waiting for the clock to chime noon. Congrats on winning Minh’s contest. Her stash is like Fort Knox, I imagine!

  4. Nanci Says:

    It’s so much fun to win a contest isn’t it? Glad you were the winner this time.
    ….And that Yarn Goddess owes you one!

Leave a Reply

