Heritage

A heritage knit.  That’s the word my friend Glennae told me applies to this very dear-to-me little project.  And since it can be combined to serve as Friday Eye Candy, well, that’s the kind of thing a working mom just loves.

Swedish Day Dress

This is the Swedish Day Dress from Minnowknits Too.

You are seeing it here as photographed on its fourth wearer.

I knitted it in 2001, shortly after the arrival of my goddaughter.

It has been worn by that child and her two sisters that followed.

And I am so grateful that my mom

"You knitted this for ME?"

managed to pull it out of the chaos of that household to return it to me for Darling Bebe to wear.

The long-discontinued yarn is Schoeller + Stahl Bari, a very soft cotton/acrylic blend.  It has been machine washed and dried more times than I can possibly imagine and it still looks pretty good.

Note:  My fellow knitters who look down their noses at anything containing acrylic have never knitted nor clothed an active child.  We are not talking about it-melts-if-you-put-a-match-near-it plastic stuff here.

I think the best part is knowing that Darling Bebe will be able to wear it for the next few seasons before it is retired to that special place I keep cherished objects.

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Heritage”

  1. thepaintedsheep Says:

    precious!

    and I’m with you on the good quality acrylic blends – even this yarn snob can appreciate something that can be tossed in the washer and dryer after a day of wear by an active little one.

  2. Margaret Kiprenko Says:

    What a beautiful dress and a beautiful model!

  3. kim Says:

    It totaly suits her. I’m so glad it was salvaged. Things like this should be passed down and well loved. Just look at how much she loves it! Have a great weekend!

  4. Bullwinkle Says:

    OMG! Darling photo’s – love the second one 🙂

    That is one sweet little project!

  5. Luann Says:

    Adorable model and garment. And the color is Toddler Luann approved!

  6. Nancy Says:

    We should all have such a dress! Adorable!

Leave a Reply

