Stolen

Two wee words describe my weekend.

Toddler vomit.

Poor Darling Bebe was suddenly wracked with it.  Over and over and over.  And once all that passed, when we sat down to a tiny bit of food the next morning, with her little hands shaking, a terrible discovery:  someone stole Sesame Street.

This is not funny, nor is it made up.  DB does not watch much TV, but she loves SS.  Not the current hip-hop-jerkety-jerk Sesame Street, where someone thinks Bert and Ernie are somehow “improved” by being turned into claymation.  She loves the ones that are ten years old, with plenty of Elmo, and bits and pieces of my childhood, like The Ladybug Picnic, and glimpses of Kermit the Frog, airing on Sprout.  (For those whose kiddos are grown, Sprout is PBS’ toddler channel.) Since we pay the cable monster for every channel man can make up, everything is pretty much On Demand – and that’s how we watch SS.  (Sprout, of course, only airs the program in the middle of NAPTIME.)

On Thursday, we were delighted and thrilled that her favorite episode – Veterinarian – was back in the rotation.  We watch that and several others through round after round of vomit on Friday.

Sometime between 10 pm Friday and 8 am Saturday, someone stole Sesame Street.  It was gone from the cable system – poof!

So I started doing what I do when Warrior Mommy Owl breaks free of her inner chains: I started reaching out to touch someone.  Starting with Comcast.  The customer-no-service rep gave me her pat, “That’s a programming issue.  You’ll have to look up that network.”

“I know it’s a programming issue.  But it is the COMCAST On Demand listing – the listing was there yesterday as its own tab and now it’s GONE.  It’s your system.  You have to know whether it’s somewhere else or been removed.”

“I don’t know how I would find that out.”

“Look, you have my account open and you can see just how much we fork over to you every month.  So I expect you to have Sesame Street available.  And not to have it just disappear overnight. ”

“Yes, I see you are a valued customer.”

“So I assure you that if you do not locate Sesame Street, I will leave you in a nanosecond to go to U-Verse as soon as it’s in my neighborhood.”

“Let me see what I can find out.”

14 minutes later, she came back on the line.

“If you want to know anything, you’ll have to contact Sprout.  Do you know how to do that?”

“You mean the network that I located and already sent an email to while you had me on hold?  And its local PBS affiliate just in case they could help, while I was still on hold?

“Yes.”

“I guess you could say I do know how to do that.  Thanks.”

Suffice it to say the rep will not be happy with her little follow-up customer service ranking from the post-contact polls I always participate in.

The weekend passed and Darling Bebe is now as right as rain again.

Monday morning, Sesame Street was back.  All of it.

So you can imagine my surprise when the mobile rang this morning.  It was a woman from Sprout calling me to say that there had been a problem at the head end in New England, but to assure me the programming was back.

(pause)

I sent an email and they looked into the problem and they called me.

Wow.

On the knitting front, I must report I have completed every stitch of stranded colorwork.  Four miles of stockinette (aka one last raglan sleeve) stands between me and assembly and finishing.  There is light at the end of this knitting tunnel.

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Stolen”

  1. kim Says:

    Sometimes the squeaky wheel does actually get the grease. God help anybody who erases Ruby and Max!!!

  2. Kris Says:

    oh my goodness. talk about adding insult to injury. glad to hear that wee one is both feeling better and sprout has been returned.

    fingers crossed it won’t happen again, but if it does, remember I’m not far, have Uverse, knitting, snuggly cats to entertain wee one – and adult beverages.

  3. Nanci Says:

    Poor Bebe. Years ago, when there was only 3 of us, we all came down with what we named The “Exorcist Disease” (you can figure it out)….. ah, memories.
    No Sesame? Momma Owl springs into action, and you always will. It’s what we do best (besides knitting of course). You’re just warming up!!!
    xoxo

  4. Nancy Says:

    Stolen…oh what a heading. Glad all is better!

  5. Bullwinkle Says:

    Poor Bebe! Poor you! (One of my nephews wore out the VCR tape (three times) on his favorite big trucks videos. … that’s the same nephew who read/was read Richard Scary’s Cars and Trucks and Things that Go until he was 9, Every. Night. Before. Bed.)

    Excellent customer service from Sprout. As it should be. Awesome.

    And knitting may now be boring … but its almost over and certainly better than stranded charted colorwork.

  6. Luann Says:

    I have an ep of Sesame Street saved on the DVR at all times, and on my iPhone too. But best of all is SesameStreet.org. Massive archive of bits from all 41 years of the show. That’s TL’s favorite way to watch, and mine.

Leave a Reply

