Yarntoxicated

In the midst of an otherwise Murphy-esque week, a Priority Mail envelope arrived at my house.

There was no note, but I recognized the return address all too well.

And inside, were two hanks of almost indescribable smooshiness.  If I were a good blogger, I’d have taken some pictures.

Nope, I was so excited to touch this that after throwing Darling Bebe in her bed 40 seconds after putting Darling Bebe to bed, the swift and winder were a-crankin’.

Spirit Trail Fiberworks Lyra in Appalachia

Meet Lyra, a 50% alpaca/30% merino/20% silk blend in light worsted weight from Spirit Trail Fiberworks, shown here in colorway Appalachia.

I wanted to fill a bathtub with it and roll around in it.

Yikes.

My unwritten but understood and accepted assignment:  Hawthorne from Twist Collective for Jennifer’s booth for Rhinebeck.

In fact, as soon as I got the cakes off the winder, I set to swatching.

Looking back, I suppose that’s where things started going awry.  I’ve noticed that I have this tendency to swatch very differently from how I actually knit. My knitting seems to be more relaxed.  And gauge?  Well, if my observation holds any truth, you can just imagine its effect. If I were a good blogger, you would see a picture of this. Right.

US 9?  Sure, my gauge was just a little tighter than the pattern called for, allowing for some relaxing after a soak.

I duly cast on the 311 stitches and got going.

Post-swatching, pre-frogging Hawthorne

Holey lacecaps, Batman!  Loose and drapey is one thing … this was NOT what the designer had in mind.  Not well photographed, but suffice it to say, you don’t want to see through every single stitch.

Oooookay then.  Back to the US 7s I wanted to use in the first place.  After frogging it all.  And casting on another 311 stitches.

While I do not tend to favor variegated colorways, this one is really subtle, and I think it will be gorgeous.  Frankly, I didn’t really mind having to redo what I’d started, other than having committed Knitting Time Lost.  It just prolonged what I think is going to be a passionately hedonistic experience.

Jennifer might have to pry it out of my cold dead hands.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Yarntoxicated”

  1. Debbie R. Says:

    Omg! This so exciting. I can’t wait to make this. Beautiful start. Lol..to throwing her in bed. Keep us updated on your progress.

  2. Margaret Says:

    Aaaaah…. What a beautiful yarn! I love the colorway. I can’t wait to see your Hawthorne completed.

  3. Luann Says:

    Yum, yum, yum! Winder cakes is right!

  4. Lanea Says:

    It’s going to be gorgeous! I love the color, too. I may need to sate myself with some Lyra very, very soon.

Leave a Reply

