Anticipation

Somehow, it is all done.  Or as much as could be done by one Owl.  There are, in fact, limits to what one can accomplish in the owl hours.

  • The boxes bags mound of yarn now boxed to share with other knitters and charity groups.
  • The oh-so-organized ziplock packages of caked yarn and patterns for supposedly mindless knitting, because it is, after all, a knitting retreat.
  • The labeled projects made from the Knitter’s Book of Wool for others to fondle and dare I say, sniff.
  • The “favorite yarn” for our epic introduction/show-and-tell session.
  • The objects I knitted this year that I want to wear show off.
  • The materials for my day-long class that will result in much-needed sleeping socks for Darling Bebe.
  • The pictures of DB, without which, I will be sent packing by her adoring aunties.
  • The actual clothing and (alleged) necessities for four days away because “going commado” is not an option.
  • The secret stash of bottles of Diet Coke, because life is too short to go without or to drink flat soda.
  • The camera for all those moments I will later wish I had captured.

This is, after all, my equivalent of Christmas Eve, complete with a metaphoric and literal trip “over the river and through the woods” to Williamstown, Massachusetts.

Over the next four days and three nights I will:

  • Be hugged by friends with whom I “talk” every day on an otherwise sterile plane.
  • Admire the beautiful handmade items that exemplify so much assembled talent in a group of 100 knitters.
  • Fill my already-bursting head with more projects and ideas than I can ever execute.
  • Help others work through tricky bits in their projects and knitting.
  • Spend time with one of my favorite people on the earth, Clara Parkes, who has wickedly dry humor that makes me laugh until I cry, as well as vision I can only wish I possessed.
  • Share quarters with my BFF, who is the best. roommate. evah. ~ and not because she gets up early and delivers coffee bedside.  It certainly qualifies as a bonus, though.
  • Learn new techniques from Wise Ones of our craft.
  • Somehow refill the boxes I brought and emptied with new lovable yarn to keep my needles full.  As if there was danger of them ever being empty.
  • Recharge utterly empty life batteries with no responsibilities other than sleeping, eating and enjoying.
  • Actually perform less knitting than any other weekend of the year.

It is the Knitter’s Review Retreat.  And I’m on my way.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Anticipation”

  1. Nancy Zeller Says:

    Have a delightful break, rest and retreat!

  2. thepaintedsheep Says:

    Have a great time – you deserve this!

  3. Debbie R. Says:

    Fun, Fun, Fun!!

  4. debbie Says:

    Well how was it?!

  5. Lanea Says:

    Complete aside here . . . we discussed owl prints at the retreat. I have this one on hand: http://www.equilter.com/cgi-bin/webc.cgi/st_prod.html?p_prodid=116923&sid=31U9Hz2T-M9sA61-42110505372.ea. But I wasn’t sure if it was too juvenile for you. I wish they made it in bolder colors.

Leave a Reply

