Stylish

Here’s one of those blogger things intended to virally drive readership up.  Okay, I’ll play.  Because the bloggers here are people who inspire me ~ and we can all use some inspiration.

Here’s how The Stylish Blogger Award works:

  • Thank and link back to the person who sent you this award.
  • Share 7 things about yourself
  • Award 15 recently discovered great bloggers
  • Contact these bloggers and tell them about the award

Nancy at Long Ridge Farm kindly nominated me.  Nancy is on my must-read list for a number of reasons, not the least of which is the way she always manages to photograph  ~ and thus, appreciate ~ something most folks would miss.  It might be a lamb’s expression or a snowdrift, but she captures it and shares.  And reading her accounts of the daily challenges of being a shepherdess and dyer extraordinaire make me feel closer to the materials I use to create.

7 things about me:

  • I was born left-handed and switched, so when someone says, “With your left/right hand …” I have to stop and think about it.
  • I started studying piano at age 5 and continued seriously through college.
  • I love architecture, in particular, the pristine lines of Frank Lloyd Wright, and would dearly love to live in the right bungalow.
  • There are no white walls in my house.
  • I read charts more easily than words.
  • I moved about every 18 months as a child owing to a corporate dad.
  • I despise the color pink.

“Stylish” bloggers I read ~ which is to say, people who inspire me on some level (most of which are found in the blogroll at right):

ChronicEnnui – Yorkiegirl can look at something and duplicate it, and can do more with a neutral house palette than anyone I’ve ever known.  If I could have as uncluttered a home …

Ysolda – She is deservedly the “it” girl of knitting.  Setting aside her brilliance as a designer and her charm as a model, her blog makes me long to be a cool kid.

OutofYarn – Bullwinkle sees things through her own lens.  It cracks me up and sometimes makes me think, too.  And I don’t even like dogs.

NotPlainJane – Jane’s place is peaceful.  It feels like a quiet bench to gather one’s self for a few minutes.  Serenity reigns here.

Clara’s Window – If you only know Clara from her knitting books, you are missing quite a lot. Even better, this window sometimes includes recipes.

Luannocracy – My cyber-sister is always showing me something clever she just whipped up, and though I love her, it’s only because I do that I can keep from being jealous.

AnnBuddKnits – Wanna learn something?  Visit Ann, who is not only one of the knitterati, but also one of the nicest people you will ever meet.  Works with …

Quince & Co – I love the clean lines of Pam Allen’s blog and the whole design aesthetic of her line of American yarns.  Another of the knitterati who is kind to mere plebian  knitters.  No surprise Pam and Ann join their forces for the good of knitting.

SnitNKnit – Kipster is the urban trend-spotter.  I love her photos of New York and how she manages to snap pix of knitwear on the street.

CrazyLanea – Don’t let the name fool you.  Give her thread or yarn and the corresponding needle, and she is wicked clever. She’s a problem-solver I rely on.

Eagle Feathers – I don’t know when she does it.  Solaris is always whipping out something.  You must see her Merry Maid dress.  It is jaw-droppingly perfect.  And she posts in two languages.

Many thanks to all of you from my little owl box on the ‘net.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Stylish”

  1. kim Says:

    Hahaha. Uncluttered. You make me laugh. Jim just told me that we need to get rid of some of this “clutter.” I think he meant “dog toys” ….

    Thank you for including me. It saddens me that you do not like pink. But I shall foregive you because you often remind me to add a little color to my life. Who knows? I may even go for those persimmon drapes my mom suggested….

  2. debbie Says:

    WHAT??!! Well Missy “despise” is a rather strong word!! I will cover the ears of my beautiful PINK Kousa Dogwood shawl so she will not be distressed by your hostility!! Despite this outrageous behavior I still like you very much, lol.

  3. Lanea Says:

    You are too kind. I hope I live up to your compliment, but I’m not always sure I do.

  4. Bullwinkle Says:

    Oh my! I best get back to blogging now!

    Thank you! I’ll try to live up to this – right now I feel like everyone else is inspiring me (or it’s one giant outbreak of startitis!)

    (And – what do you mean you don’t like dogs??)

Leave a Reply

