Clever

It has been clearly established that I am as qualified to turn on a sewing machine as I am to conduct brain surgery.

There are times when this is particularly bothersome, especially as I mercilessly purge my house of stuff I no longer want or need.  From time to time, I encounter articles of clothing that were much-loved at the time, but are no longer for wearing.  It seems to me that some of these things can and should be re-purposed.  For example, a nutmeg-colored cotton knit dress I wore throughout college.  A friend gifted with sewing talent turned it into shoulder burp cloths.  How I loved using them in the days when the determination of “clean” or “dirty” was based checking the shoulders of every top!

This is why one must know a clever cat.  Enter KnittingKittens.

My household purge yielded a pair of cropped drawstring-waist linen pants.  The baggy nearly-pajama-bottom kind.  After significant weight-loss (~YAY!~), I know I’d never wear them again.  But I love linen.  And it just seemed to me that there must be something that could be done with them — too much yardage to confine to the rag pile.

Pants + imagination = hand towels

So now, because my BFF is a whiz with the sewing machine and always game for a challenge, I have two linen hand-towels for my neutral-palette bathroom.

But as the infomercial shouts:  Wait – there’s MORE!

BONUS:  A new, very roomy project bag!

Re-purposed

KnittingKittens just slays me.  I ask for hand-towels, and she comes back with this.  (Although I do agree with her, held a certain way, it does look like a pair of men’s boxers, but that – ahem – slit is actually the pocket. )  Plenty of room for two skeins of Spirit Trail Fiberworks Nona, destined to become something you’ll see on display at the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival.

So remind me – why on earth would I even think about learning to sew?

Yes, there is knitting going on chez Owl, just not much to show at the moment.  The delicious Kilkenny Cowl is now blocking …

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Clever”

  1. bullwinkle Says:

    YAY! For Recycling, ReUsing, RePurposing, RE!!! I love linen.

    I, too, have a few things I can’t bear to toss because of the yardage involved.

    Sadly, I do not have KnittingKittens in the neighborhood – and my mother is too slow 😉 /sigh I have brand new pants that are going to go out of style if I don’t hem them. Soon.

  2. nittinmama Says:

    It’s nice to have a friend as nice and creative as KnittingKittens!

  3. Lanea Says:

    Excellent! I really, really think more knitters should learn to sew. It’s easier than knitting. Truly. I swear.

Leave a Reply

