Visited

I am not particularly comfortable with the notion of blog-as-confessional.  The no-boundaries generation with its constantly spewing TMI gives me the willies.

Suffice it to say that I am dealing with life-altering challenges far beyond a toddler-who-has-become-possessed and a job where sanity turned tail and ran.  I could not get through this without my wonderful friends.  You know who you are.  I am grateful.  It makes me teary ~ then again, just about everything makes me cry right now and I’m rather close to unhinged.

I try to breathe.  Outside.  Fresh, cold air helps.

And so it was, last night, that as I sat on the porch in the dark, I had a visitor.

Aegolius acadicus

He or she swooped down and sat on the edge of a flower bed about six feet away.  He looked just like this Northern Saw-whet Owl, photographed by Rick & Nora Bowers and reposted with their permission from The Owl Pages.  (It’s a bookmark must for owl lovers.)

He looked at me.  I looked at him.  He was likely tracking the occupants of the chipmunk holes close by.  He swooped up to the maple tree in the center of the yard.  Waited a minute, then dove down to another spot on the lawn.  He silently lifted and glided away.

That’s never happened before.

I’ve never seen an owl in my neighborhood.

Until last night.

Tags: ,

9 Responses to “Visited”

  1. Nanci Says:

    The universe has a way of communicating with us if only we open ourselves up to it’s message. You were meant to be in that spot to witness this.
    What do you think this extraordinary sighting could mean, especially at this time when you are so vulnerable?
    I send this with hugs…….

  2. kim Says:

    Owls are good luck. I’m sure of it! It’s a sign.

    I’m kicking myself because I saw the most adorable owl hat on sale at The Red Balloon on Sunday that I should have grabbed for Miss, but my mom distracted me, and I forgot about it until I got home… Alas.

  3. Bullwinkle Says:

    Owl-sighting. It means something. /call Mom … Night is owl’s friend while man is afraid of the dark. Owls can see what man cannot. Athena had an owl. No one can deceive you. You see ulterior motives. Use keen, silent observation. Pay attention to omens.

    p.s. I’ve got no explanation for Mom; she has not told me how she knows this stuff.

    Also, hugs.

  4. Sandy Says:

    Meaningful and something very, very special for you to be enjoyed. Now a wonderful memory!

  5. KnittingKittens Says:

    Awesome and just what you needed to see.
    Hugs.

  6. knittin!mama Says:

    what an awesome experience. big hugs coming your way

  7. Lanea Says:

    What a beautiful visitor! I hope that owl brings you comfort and wisdom.

  8. linda Healey Says:

    amazing and beautifully written. thanks! best of luck…

  9. Battle-ready « Owlways Knitting Says:

    […] Owlways Knitting The knitting adventures of NutmegOwl « Visited […]

Leave a Reply

