Battle-ready

When the going gets tough, the tough knit lace.

Lots of lace.

Fortunately, there is much lace to be knitted chez Owl.

The knitting is finished on Elektra in Spirit Trail Fiberworks Paivatar, a merino/cashmere/nylon sport/DK.  I did make some simple pattern

Elektra - unblocked

modifications I’ll detail when I have blocked it within a millimeter of its life and photographed it for posterity.  The colorway, lilac, is exactly that ~ the color of heirloom lilacs that are indigenous here.  The pattern, one of Romi Hill’s 7 Small Shawls to Knit, was easy to the nth degree.

With April upon us, so too comes some forced but pleasant monogamy.  I call it Rising Tide, from Sivia Harding’s pattern,

Phoenix Rising in Nona

Phoenix Rising.  The yarn is Spirit Trail Fiberworks Nona, a new laceweight 50-25-25 blend of merino, cashmere and bombyx silk, in the colorway Seaweed.  It will be on display at the Spirit Trail booth at Maryland Sheep and Wool.  No, thine eyes are not playing tricks:  it has beads.  Fortunately, the pattern is wickedly easy and perfectly charted.  So much so that I’ve completed another pattern repeat since snapping this.

Spirit Trail Fiberworks Nona - Seaweed

Since I am frequently asked, yes, I am alternating skeins with the change taking place at the 3-stitch garter border at the end of the RS row.  Here you can see the variation between the two skeins, which I want to prevent from pooling, which is to say, inadvertently creating puddles of one color.

First, I bring up the waiting strand, carrying it into the back of the 3rd knit stitch from the end as one would wrap a float in fair isle knitting.  Then I bring the new yarn under the old (and drop the old) to knit the last 2 stitches of the row with the new strand.  Change complete.  Whenever I work with more than one skein, I like to cake the yarn and drop it onto a CD spindle.  This keeps everything tidy as I draw the yarn from the outside, and I can put the cover over the top when necessary.  Untwisting the two strands is a quick flick of the wrist.

I shall be spending a lot of time with this in the days ahead, filling much empty waiting (and worrying) time.

My feathered friend returned Saturday night for another visit.  This time, I had binoculars at the ready when he took up his perch on the maple tree in the center of my yard.  He gave me a long gaze over his shoulder, as if to say, “Your eyes are not playing tricks on you.  Of course I’m an owl, you dolt.” I could hear his mate making her distinctive call from a few yards away.  He floated down to a flower bed, then swooped off toward the sound of his mate.

The best weekend visit, however, came from KnittingKittens, a one-woman bring-your-own-party.  Armed with homemade red

Flock of nutmeg owls

velvet cupcakes, my favorite Starbucks treat and birthday presents, she took over and declared it party time.  Inside the gift bag, a copy of Brave New Knits (because clever Kittens had stalked my ravelry account to see what patterns I needed), an endlessly useful Starbucks gift card ~ and best of all, a whole flock of nutmeg owl stitch markers she made.

For a little while, everything was okay.  And when, in the days ahead, it’s not, well, I have this to go back to.

Things may be rather quiet in this corner of the Internet for a bit.  I appreciate deeply that you’re all there hooting for my team.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Battle-ready”

  1. Erin Says:

    I love that book! I read certain designer stories again and again, plus the patterns are great. I found out so much about the early days of blogs by reading this. Such a great collection of designers too!

  2. Bullwinkle Says:

    Thinking about you … hoping the owl is visiting 🙂

  3. Nanci Says:

    Big Hugs for you …..

  4. Lanea Says:

    Look at all of that beautiful knitting! I love that you have such a wonderful friend close by. And I am definitely on your team. We birds (of prey) need to stick together.

Leave a Reply

