Solstice

On the eve of the longest day of the year, it’s ironic that I’ve seen some of the longest nights of my existence.  Nights greying into morning, with the beginning of birdsong long before the dawn.  I’ve witnessed too many, to be sure.  I’m not ready to write much about that yet.  I have to be hopeful, though, that with the right medical help this will be resolved.  Eventually.

In the meantime, there has been knitting aplenty.  Over 4100 yards so far in Finished Objects in 2011. More on that in the weeks to come.

All the while, though, I’ve had a sort of Nero feeling that Rome is burning while I stitch away.  We have been dealing with major life challenges while trying to maintain some sense of normalcy for Darling Bebe.   My home is a disaster area.  Not acceptable.  It’s making me crazy(er).

I know we are not alone in the potholed road.  One friend confronts sudden scary health issues.  Another, the terminal diagnosis of an important friend.  Family members passing away.

Looking around me, it just seems like everything is so. damn. hard. for just about everyone.

Taking stock is rarely a bad thing.  It helps me focus.  And focus is what I need right now.  Time to get the house ~ literally and figuratively ~ in order.  You can’t reach the brass ring from the comfort of your overstuffed armchair.

I can’t wait for change to show up.  Time to make it happen.  A mid-year course correction, as it were.

Just as the nights start to get longer.

4 Responses to “Solstice”

  1. bullwinkle Says:

    I’ve been thinking about you today – mostly when the computer was out of reach. (hugs) I love the attitude: “I can’t wait for change to show up. Time to make it happen.”

  2. Jane Says:

    Stand up (as upright as possible), keep moving forward. That’s all you can do. Here’s a {{hug}}.

  3. Nanci Says:

    Jane is right. Breathe in, breathe out my dear……..

  4. KnittingKittens Says:

    Love you Owl!

Leave a Reply

