Gardening

Alcea in the garden

‘Tis the season for hollyhocks.

Here, in the garden this morning, where they have self-sowed and come up annually …

… and this year, on the needles, in this fun little crescent-shaped shawl from the talented Susanna IC.  Her pattern is called Alcea, the Latin name for hollyhocks.

Inspiration comes in many forms, and rather than questioning my yarn choice, I just went with my gut.  It is Sundara Fingering Merino Cashmere in Flower Studies #45.  Sort of a Crayola

Flower Studies #45 starring in Alcea

orange meets pink and coral.  Frankly, I didn’t really like it much.  If someone had wanted to buy it from me, I’d have been happy to sell it.

I don’t know that I see myself wearing a screaming coral-and-orange shawl.  Maybe it will become a wardrobe staple.  Maybe it will become a gift.  At this point, I haven’t a clue.

Just a compulsion to knit this yarn into this project.  Away we go.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Gardening”

  1. nittinmama Says:

    I love the hollyhocks. It will be interesting to see how you feel about the yarn once it is knit into a beautiful Alcea shawl.

  2. bullwinkle Says:

    Love the holllyhocks (Note to self: must plant some.) As for the yarn, it is perfect for the shawl and maybe once blocked out it won’t be as shockingly bright. Where your sunglasses when knitting 🙂

  3. Susie Kline Says:

    I picture the shawl with a black dress, black t, black turtleneck…the perfect accent!

    xo Susie

    ps I need to plant some hollyhocks too!

Leave a Reply

