Forewarned

While obsessively planning my travel knitting for a recent trip, I took along a skein of Sundara Fingering Merino Cashmere in the colorway Turning Leaves and Rose Beck’s Sugared Violets pattern.  Plenty of stockinette in this one-skein pattern suitable for picking up and putting down on trains, buses and the like.

Unblocked and waiting for a bath - or 3

Like a few other pretties, it’s been stuck on the runway waiting for blocking – but not for space issues.  I was waiting for a delivery of Synthrapol.  I wanted to knit the larger version of the shawl, and since most Sundara skeins tend to run “heavy,” I put in a couple of lifelines in case I ran short, and kept going.  (I am happy to report, I did not run out of yarn.)  However, my snow-white crochet cotton quickly turned pink.  The yarn was bleeding all over the cotton, and in some instances, my fingers, too.  Ruh-roh.

The last thing I want to do while preparing my knits for blocking is waste 100 gallons of water removing excess dye.  So I consulted the Oracle of Fiber and Dye for advice.  A hot bath in Synthrapol was prescribed.  I duly gloved up and dunked the shawl into the hottest water I could stand.  The bath turned into cranberry-juice cocktail.  I let it sit a good while, then rinsed in the same temperature water.  And thought I’d give it a little rinse in Eucalan for sake of a lavender scent.  That turned cranberry, too.

Sigh.  Here we go again.  Groundhog Day.

Finally out of the bath and pinned out

It took three wicked hot Synthrapol baths before the water ran significantly clearer.  And the final Eucalan bath yielded something close to chamomile tea in color.  Good enough.

Because this shawl did not have “points,” I inserted lifelines

No points on this edge!

in both edges that I then used to pin out the edges as smoothly as possible.  I find the thread makes this easier than just pinning out the wet fiber by itself.

It dried beautifully.  I suppose it lost about 10% of its color saturation

One more newel

along the way.  Better to lose it in a wash tub than on my clothing and skin!  So in this case, the lifelines had nothing to do with the knitting and everything to do with the Excess Dye Warning System.

Project marriage score:  9

Mods: None

Yes, I have been on a bit of a newel photography kick lately.  My satellite office has plenty of staircases and I’ve walked up and down them for years without noticing that they would be a helpful place for FO photos.

See, my employer has decided

that it is preferable for me to lose precious time with DB /spend hours in the car daily /spend my own $$ on gas than for them to pay minimal rent for my space.  I will soon lose access to them, so I am taking advantage of my surroundings while I can.   Until I have new digs.  That go along with a new employer.

Apologies if photos seem out-of-sequence.  They are. WordPress is not playing nice today.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Forewarned”

  1. nittinmama Says:

    Its hard to think of more words to describe yet another beautifully knitted pretty!

  2. Susie Kline Says:

    I never thought of using lifelines as blocking aids! Something new learned here!

    xo Susie

  3. bullwinkle Says:

    Delightful 🙂 I love something without all the pointy bits.

    Also, I never thought of lifelines as blocking aids either. It’s a great idea – I’m not sure if I’ve pulled them out before blocking or I just never use life lines 😉 Maybe I just don’t do enough lace.

Leave a Reply

