Unwelcome

Irene was this weekend’s unwanted visitor.

Neither hurricanes nor tropical storms are too common as far inland as I live, but I have spent enough of my professional life in weather-related disasters to know how seriously to take the threat and how to prepare.

So much for curb appeal

Still, there’s always luck ~ and in my case, St. Jude ~ involved.  Like this maple that’s been growing in front of my house longer than the house has been there.  It was no match for the tropical-storm-force winds Sunday morning.  But somehow, it managed to break into the street.

THAT is some claw

The clean-up — while we were still waiting for Irene’s landfall — was quite a show in an of itself.  We especially enjoyed seeing the giant claw at work.  The last time we saw one of those it was scooping out 7-foot packed snow piles that were blocking city intersections.   Sadly, I fear we will be left with something akin to a totem pole when all is said and done.

WIres down

Then, just a couple of hours later, another sound kind of like a car-door slamming.  Doesn’t look like much from the living room window, but the branch from the tree next-door took out their power and made ours sag nearly to the ground.  It put us on “flicker” status for the rest of the weekend.  Every strong gust made our power flutter, but somehow, it held.

DRY, baby, DRY!

Now, I cannot get the old Scorpions song out of my head, with a slight tweak to the lyrics: “Block You in a Hurricane.”  Yeah.  Suffice it to say, the much drier post-storm air had better get Juneberry Triangle dry.  Mr. Owl does not seem to understand why there is any problem with just taking it off and moving it somewhere else.    (All the more reason why I must have my own Knitting Room in a different maison.)

Because I’ve learned my punishment for being one of the very fortunate households to have power today: expecting my in-laws for an extended stay.   Please, St. Jude, bring me bucketloads of patience, let me not bite through my tongue and make her leave the patchouli oil at their house!

EDITED 8/30 TO ADD:  Mercifully ~ and miraculously ~ power was restored to the in-laws an hour before their anticipated arrival.  Words cannot express how grateful I am …

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Unwelcome”

  1. nittinmama Says:

    Glad that you, Mr. Owl and Darling Bebe made it through the storm without too many difficulties. The after-storm in-laws are another story. What is it with the lol (little old ladies) and their patchouli oil. Can’t stand the smell of that.
    The Juneberrry looks magnificent. Texture galore, beautiful shades of color, and expert blocking. That is a can’t miss combination

  2. KnittingKittens Says:

    The guest room at das Kittenhaus is always open!
    KnittingKittens

  3. debbie Says:

    The Juneberry is a delight to look at. So nice to see you posting again. I’m currently working on Bridgewater. You know how I love Jared too!

Leave a Reply

