Alcea

Alas, the hollyhocks of summer are long gone and the skies are decidedly autumnal today.  Even as I welcome the cooler temps, there’s something a little sad about it.  Summer 2011 went too fast.  I seem to have missed a lot of it somehow.  But a lot of big serious ugly things are behind now, and if losing a summer was what it took, so be it.

Alcea by Susanna IC

Because I dare say that this will be a reminder of summer wherever I go.  This is Alcea, another flawlessly written pattern by SusannaIC.  Alcea, as in hollyhocks.  It’s fair to say the colorway, Flower Studies #45 in Sundara Fingering Merino Cashmere, is the most

You want a close-up?

relentlessly cheerful thing I’ve seen in a while.  No blues allowed while wearing this little number 😉 I didn’t even really like the colorway, but when I went stash-diving for this pattern, it said, “Pick me!  Pick me!”

And so I did.

Okay, not THAT close

I knocked this out in the space of ten days or so.  Somehow, it took less than half a skein.  I’m still trying to figure that one out.  Because it finished at the right size.  I was blocking for wingspan, not depth.

SO – here’s the knitty gritty …

Finished size:  58″ wide by 16 deep at deepest point.

Project marriage score:  9.5

Projects waiting to be blocked:  2

Next up: a high-pressure two-day out-of-town work meeting that eviscerates my weekend.  No fun whatsoever.

I haven’t left yet and I can’t wait to get home.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Alcea”

  1. erin Says:

    I agree this summer went way too fast. I was busy with teaching summer school and then the heat went out…. wow. I am now back to work at this new job, teaching high school age students with intensive special needs…. then fall wind is blowing outside and the queue for cardigans is getting longer. that’s one good thing about the change in seasons anyway, sweaters will be wearable again!
    As for the hard things you’ve had to endure….I’m sorry and I’m glad that your Alcea will put a smile on your face when you wear it…. beautiful. I’ve added it to my ever-lengthening queue.
    I hope your weekend is bearable, there’s no place like home. 🙂 erin

  2. Lanea Says:

    So sunny! I’m welcoming some autumnal weather with open arms. If only my need to plant bulbs and my annual melt-down about sewing for NY and the KR retreat didn’t collide every year . . . .

  3. debbie Says:

    Omg I love this! I can’t stop looking at it.

Leave a Reply

