Game

Nine rows to go.  Nine rows of ribbing to go.  And I will be finished with that last Rhinebeck model.  Nothing like going down to the wire.  While I play beat-the-clock, here’s my iteration of the passing-the-beachball game going around Ravelry these days.

10 Random Things About Me

  1. I despise the color pink.  Period.  Knitting with it, wearing it, looking at it.  Blech.  Of course, having a daughter meant an onslaught of it.  Try finding bedding for a preschooler that doesn’t have it. Fortunately, she’s told her mommy that she wants a purple room.  Whew.  That I can do.
  2. By my 12th birthday, I had moved seven times.  (That’s interstate moves.)  Kids adapt.  Really, they do.
  3. My TiVo is filled almost exclusively with PBS and BBC America programming, with a smattering of HGTV  (“Dear Genevieve,” to be exact).   Note to American TV execs:  Prime Suspect without Helen Mirren isn’t a crime show, it’s criminal.  Watch the British version of everything: it’s just better.   The exception, of course, is “Dexter.”  It is perversely wonderful and never makes it to TiVo.
  4. I love architecture, particularly the Arts & Crafts movement.  Its principles and clean lines work.
  5. I last ate red meat when I was 17.  My mom put me on some fad diet that cut out red meat; I never went back.  It’s a lot easier to be a poutri-fishi-tarian now than it was then.
  6. I love consignment and thrift-store shopping.  About 80% of Darling Bebe’s clothes come from there; a majority of mine, too.  It’s the thrill of the hunt and the ability to find something of value for a fraction of the price.
  7. Sloppy grammar and punctuation drive me batty.  Especially in giant supermarket window posters.  Or formal business letters.  Or anywhere.  Don’t they teach English anymore ~ much less diagramming sentences?
  8. I love folding DB’s clothing.  Something about smoothing out those stacks of little shirts and leggings …
  9. Nine years of living Chez Owl is the longest I have ever lived in one house.  No wonder I am positively itching to move.
  10. At the end of a work day, after DB is in bed, all I really want is a chart and yarn and needles ~ no words, please.  I deal in words all day long.  Just symbols so my fingers know what to do and I can put my brain on “disconnect.”

Okay – your turn.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Game”

  1. Kim Says:

    I here you about the grammer. LOL. Just kidding!!!! I have always loved folding children’s clothing as well. Nice, neat, little stacks in pleasing colors. So tactile. I just finished Season 5 of Dexter and am trying to convince the other person in my house that we should order Showtime just for Season 6.

  2. Noallatin Says:

    I teach English and I teach diagramming. You’d think I asked the little darlings to stand on their heads. By the end of the year, some have a clue and some thunk it’s simply to hard to bother with. What can I say?

  3. Lanea Says:

    I’m right there with you on so many of these. Especially the pink. Though I am a stalwart carnivore.

  4. Susie Kline (@SusieKline) Says:

    I loved this and am doing it tomorrow on my blog!

  5. Ten Random Things About Me Says:

    […] I got this game from Owlways Knitting. Let me know if you play too! […]

Leave a Reply

