Diversion

Oscar Wilde had it right.  Sometimes the only way to get rid of temptation is to give in.

I did.  And in the space of 3 days, here is my first FO of 2012.  The pattern is Rosebud from the out-of-this-world BrooklynTweed Fall 2011 Collection.  I knitted a one-skein version of it on smaller

Rosebud, unblocked

needles as a charity hat.  The yarn is Berocco Blackstone Tweed from our Knitter’s Review Retreat swag bags in 2010.  I thoroughly enjoyed knitting with this blend of wool, mohair and always-loved angora, and knew it (desperately) wanted to be on a bigger needle.  The pattern was fun and thoroughly addictive.

So at this year’s retreat, I watched the Stash Lounge in the hope that other knitters might destash their skeins.  Lo and behold: Two in the same dyelot!  Bingo!

Since Christmas, I have been trying – really trying – to finish up some UFOs that have been waiting patiently on the back burner.  But I need someone clever to explain to me please how it can be that I can knit for three nights on the same sock cuffs and still NOT have achieved the last half-inch before the heel flaps?

Confronted with that physics problem, I did what any smart knitter would do:  I put down the socks for some instant gratification.  Rosebud.  With two skeins, for the full-sized slouchy version to cover my noggin and head o’hair.   Still needs blocking and modeling.

Back to the UFO parade for me.

And to see if those little sock legs (on US 0 needles) might have knitted themselves while they sat in Time Out.

One can hope.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Diversion”

  1. nancy Says:

    Sweet hat Owl! I bet it looks great on you!

  2. nittinmama Says:

    Great hat! Let me know if your little socks knitted themselves while in time out. None of the many items that I have placed in time out have ever done that. I remain optimistic, however.

  3. Kim Says:

    Ooooh! Love it! That yarn looks very yummy. I really like the garter stitch look.

  4. Tracey Says:

    i too love knitting hats, particularly in the midst of an onerous project. i think of them as knitting vacations. so fun to have a project that gets done quickly!

  5. bullwinkle Says:

    The garter stitch grows on me.

    Except, is this knitted in the round? In which case, you are essentially purling every other round?

    It looks scrunch and warm 🙂 Perfect!

Leave a Reply

