Incessant

There has to be a word for it.  The phenomenon of having a song stuck in your head that replays incessantly and won’t be chased away.

… For purple mountains’ majesty / Above the fruited plain …

As I knit football field after football field of garter stitch of this

Brigantia in Persian Nights

brand-spankin’-new Spirit Trail Fiberworks yarn, Brigantia, in the colorway Persian Nights, I can’t get this line sung by elementary-school voices out of my addled head.

It is the perfect recreation of Crayola blue-violet of my childhood.  I always loved that color.  There’s a lot of it in my garden.

23 (growing) rows of garter to go before applying the lace border.

Maybe then the song will stop.

Please, let the song stop.

I don’t want the knitting to stop, mind you.  In fact, I feel a love affair coming on.  A rather torrid affair with this Polwarth-silk blend, truth be told.   It’s so new you can’t buy it on the website yet, but if you’re coming to Maryland Sheep and Wool, you can find Brigantia ~ even this particular piece in Brigantia ~ there.

Maybe I just need more of it in a different colorway to get the damn song out of my head!

Yeah, that’s the ticket.  Stashing for sanity.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Incessant”

  1. Brigantia « Owlways Knitting Says:

    […] felt it coming […]

  2. homewizard Says:

    The technical term is “earworm.” Ask me how I know. Let this knowledge empower you to name your demon.

Leave a Reply

