Charmed: Year 3!

How about that?  Three years online and growing.

Most days, I feel like I’m writing for myself, a couple of out-of-state friends, and some former students who don’t have a LYS to take classes with me anymore.  Then I’ll get some revelation that knocks me smack onto my tailfeathers.  Like the new WordPress stat maps that show me readers in Japan and Russia and any number of other places it never occurred to me to think might be swooping by.  (I get really tickled to see Internet searches in Greek.)  I mean, it’s not like there are boundaries on the Internets.  Or the random days where for no particular reason, several hundred people will drop by.  I didn’t put a pie on the windowsill to cool or anything.  But you come anyhow.

It’s all pretty nifty.

Especially the part where I tell you that I’m pretty sure that my family still doesn’t know I’m doing this.  Or if they do, they’re not telling.  And that’s okay, too.

I get the biggest kick out of seeing what you come here to find.  Most often it’s the reviews of how different new yarns perform.  If my experiences can help you decide whether one is right for you, so much the better.

Sadly, I won’t have spent the almost-blogiversary Saturday at the Connecticut Sheep and Wool Festival ~ celebrating its year 103 in 2012.  My evil employers captors have seen fit to incarcerate me at a mega-management program for the weekend.  So have a slice of cake and some ice cream for me, won’t you?

My revenge reward ~ will be to run away next week to an event I’ve never attended:  the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival, MDSW for short.  Bless Mr. Owl for telling me to buy the ticket and go.  Bless Jen and Co. for welcoming me to the Booth Babes sisterhood.  I promise to tell you all about it. You never know what will make it home in the suitcase that Southwest lets me check for free.  (Kiss kiss to Southwest.)

Of course, it wouldn’t be a blogiversary if I didn’t celebrate with a contest and prizes.  Put on your imaginary party hat and think back to what first brought you here.  Tell me about it in the comments below.  Or hold up your glass of bubbly and tell me something else.  Lurkers: This is your cue to come on out!  Contest closes Sunday, May 6 at 11:59 p.m.  Winners to be drawn the old-fashioned way.  Cheers!

Tags: , , , ,

23 Responses to “Charmed: Year 3!”

  1. Traci Says:

    I found your blog through the Interweave Newsletter. At first, I would just click through on the link and read your comments. Then, I signed up to receive your newsletter directly. Love the great comments and clear writing. Keep it up! I love knitting and reading about knitting.

  2. Nancy Says:

    We met quite some time ago at the CT Sheep and Wool although it took me two years to catch on to what you were up to! The I started seeing you swooping about from show to show and catching up with you was a highlight! I do find myself checking in to see what you are knitting/testing/enjoying. I have learned alot. You are one of the happiest and most avid knitters I know! Congratulations to you!

  3. frieda Says:

    I emerge from Lurk with cobwebs in my hair; knitting is more fun than cleaning, obviously. I don’t remember where I saw a link to Owlways, but I followed it because I have a knitting daughter who loves owls. Still reading because I like the way you write as much as the things you write about. Happy blogiversary!

    • NutmegOwl Says:

      Frieda,
      Let’s not talk of cleaning and cobwebs, please, at least not when I have knitting deadlines! I am so glad you came out of the shadows. Sending you a great big, “Hoot!”

  4. nittinmama Says:

    I’m not sure what brought me here in the beginning but what keeps me coming back is the info about new yarns and patterns that you are utilizing, all of the eye candy, and other knitting potpourri. Keep writing and we will happily keep reading. Happy 3rd!

  5. Noallatin Says:

    I decided to read your blog after I met you at the KR Retreat. Happy Blogiversary.
    Noallatin

  6. Nanci S Says:

    Congratulations, dear Owl on your 3 year blogiversary! It’s been great following your knitting life after meeting at the 2006 KR Retreat. I’ve enjoyed reading, occasionally commenting, but mostly learning from a natural knitter, who has grown immeasurably as the years go by. Happy blogiversay!

  7. debbie Says:

    What brought me here was meeting you, taking your class, and making the most beautiful item I’ve ever knit. Yes, even though it’s pink! No teacher has ever topped that class! Love your style and so sad that I don’t get to see you. Debbie xo
    P.S. Have fun at the MDSW! So exciting!

  8. jodi Says:

    I especially like reading about your adventures in the sample making world 🙂
    Miss bumping into you at the LYS. You are going to have a great time at MDSW…can’t wait to read all about your trip.

  9. Tracey Kay Says:

    congratulations on 3 years!

    i first read your blog when i noticed that you had posted about my fenced in pattern. i read back a bit and enjoyed your writing and have been reading ever since. 🙂

  10. Tee Says:

    Well, that’s easy. I check in whenever my mom (Frieda, above) sends me a link, like she did today to the pretty blue pitcher above (because owls with flower-eyes always remind us of Blodeuwedd in general, and Alan Garner’s The Owl Service specifically). I’ll be at MDS&W because I live down the road, but my mom’s destined for disappointment if she thinks I’ll spot you. Crowds! (Pro tip: the fairgrounds open well before the advertised opening, you just can’t buy anything yet – but the parking is better).

  11. Bullwinkle (@Outofyarn) Says:

    hmmm … I think I’ve been reading the whole time. … /scanning archives … Possibly I read back from Nov 2009 after really meeting you at the KRR retreat. I can’t find my first comment. 😦 I was a bad commenter.

    What brought me here – aside from news of you – was your amazing knitting and excellent yarn reviews. You have much knowledge that I want you to share. 🙂 Also, you somehow know exactly which patterns appeal to my inner knitter. That is a talent because even I don’t know what goes on in my head.

    Congratulations on the Bloggiversary!!

  12. AngieSue Says:

    I remember seeing your name often at KR but I think I started reading because I admired your beauties on Ravelry. I wondered who is this woman that can knit like the wind, create these beautiful scarves, and so vividly write her thoughts and journeys. Now, I know!

  13. Gwyndolyn O'Shaughnessy Says:

    I followed a link from Bullwinkle at OutOfYarn, iirc. I stayed because of your writing. Your reviews are practical as well as kind; the photos are both illustrative and pretty.

    I don’t comment often because I usually visit from work — during lunch! — but “they” don’t really approve of such.
    🙂

    • NutmegOwl Says:

      I’m delighted you’ve made this a stop in your online travels – it’s so nice of you to share that. And we do have our Bullwinkle in common 🙂

  14. Mary Says:

    I know you’re having a wonderful time at MDSW! I started reading your blog from knowing you from KR. Then checking out your projects on Ravelry. And then noticing the link to your blog. I continue reading your blog because of your amazing talent how you share your knowledge with us.

  15. Not-So-Secret Admirer « R1-K1-Spin Says:

    […] Happy third birthday to Owlways Knitting! […]

  16. Possibilities « Owlways Knitting Says:

    […] thank you to each and every one of you who wrote something.  It truly warmed my heart. Share this:ShareLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

