Proof

Eight weeks and almost no knitting.

It just hasn’t felt right.  (Then again, a lot of things haven’t felt right.)  I’ve been jumpy, constantly amped up, never really able to settle down.  There’s also the job that never stops, either.

It’s been driving me nuts.

Said by an extremely generous friend ~ who also happens to be very wise: “Why don’t you just try some knits and some purls.  A scarf or something.”

Wha’?

The Knitting Goddess clearly agreed.  I had signed up for Sivia Harding‘s first club, Mezzaluna – the patterns only, to knit down some stash along the way over the next year.  Penumbra was released at the end of August.  I decided to use some lovely organically grown and naturally dyed stash yarn.   The Yarn Goddess made sure the beads I ordered were inexplicably delayed for nearly two weeks coming from a mere 2 states away.  Then, when they arrived, there had been a mistake in the order and the wrong quantity of beads was sent.  So I started knitting while I waited for the remainder.  And it turned out that the yarn has just enough indigo in it to crock on my hands (and clothes) every time I touch it.

O-kay.  No beaded lace right now, though I was sure a nice chart was going to sort this out and bring the rhythm back.

But today, I can show you proof of knitting.

Proof of Knitting with Birte

Doesn’t look like much, other than the gorgeous colorway Lamb’s Ear in Spirit Trail Fiberworks Birte.  Birte and Sunna; Sunna and Birte.  Identical yarns (75%  merino, 15% cashmere, 10% bombyx silk) of different weights that do everything you ask.

This will eventually be the Winding River Cowl.  A bunch of ribbing and some cables that will make it reversible.

Just what the Yarn Goddess ordered in the first place.  I wasn’t clever enough to recognize it at the time.

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Proof”

  1. luann Says:

    Just what the doctor ordered!

  2. cleolion Says:

    That may be the most beautiful blue I’ve ever seen!

  3. Lanea Says:

    I love my Winding River–one of the most wearable things I’ve ever made myself, and excellent subway knitting to boot. I hope it is just the thing.

  4. aiofse Says:

    Lanea got me at Rhinebeck with the Winding River – I haven’t cast on, but I did get Birte to knit with.

  5. Reset « Owlways Knitting Says:

    […] wrecking what I touched.  Every bit of inner stillness and rhythm had evaporated.  It took good advice and some special yarn to get me kick-started, and I hope to never, ever experience it […]

Leave a Reply

