Unstoppable

Neither rain nor sleet … nor a forecast my usually reliable meteorologist completely blew will keep me from the road today.

Unexpected adornment

“Frost on the pumpkin” indeed.  More like 12 hours of snow from a nor’easter that was not supposed to require a visit from the plow driver.  Schools closed early; offices, too.

It is the owl hours and I am still working as seems to happen every time I have a trip scheduled.  As for packing, well, I have a pretty good list.  The clothes and toiletries are always the easy part.  For the Knitter’s Review Retreat it’s the knitting stuff that sometimes makes my hair hurt, only because I’m hundreds of miles from home and might not have the tools or stuff I need.

Then again, it is also the one weekend a year I accomplish less knitting than any other weekend.

Because it is my time to reconnect in person with the friends who are connected to me through wires the rest of the year.  The ones who have kept me afloat these past few months when I really came unglued.

I need this trip, and I’m even happy about 7 hours of driving since it’s the most time I’ll have been able to spend with KnittingKittens in ~ well, too darn long (and we live just minutes apart, how sad is THAT?!?)!

Off now to pack some more, lest I not have that one set of needles I wished I had when I wanted it.  The work can wait a few more minutes.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Unstoppable”

  1. Nancy Says:

    Have a wonderful retreat. You indeed deserve this.

  2. Mary Says:

    Reading this just now–after the Retreat. It was certainly worth the 7 hour drive, wasn’t it? I know it was for me!

  3. Amy Says:

    It was so nice to meet you at the retreat!!

Leave a Reply

